Home » Uncategorized » What’s an Empath? Another Validation

What’s an Empath? Another Validation

I always doubt my abilities. This is because I am often wrong. I am only human after all.  I feel like people assume that psychic is equal to complete infallibility.  This is not even close to true.  My brain can screw up and misinterpret any number of feelings and messages. There are also times when I can feel other people’s doubt.  I can hear their disbelief, so I start to question.  This ability is so strange.  It’s not like I can talk to dead people. All I do is tell people how they feel.  It can be very cryptic, but the staunch believers help me to back to my happy place.  

My students always tell me I should have my own show like The Long Island Medium.  I laugh and say that I don’t think anyone would want to watch this, but they do.  They shake their heads and tell me how wrong I am.  Among my students who are definite believers, there are the students who don’t believe I can read anything about them.  I have one such student right now.  He is a sweet boy, extremely quiet.  When I read him the one day, I told him that I knew he was going to be working at some camp during the summer.  I assumed it was a sleep-away camp.

He shook his head.  “Nope, you’re wrong,” he said.

“Really?” I asked.  “You aren’t working at a camp this summer.”

“Well, yeah, but I don’t sleep there,” he answered.  This was true and is often enough evidence to prove that I don’t know what I am talking about.  But today I could not let his disbelief go.

“Go ahead,” he said today.  “You can read my vibe.  You were wrong yesterday,” he added.  I nodded and was a bit nervous.  The Universe has a tendency to show me up at the most inopportune times.

“You have a really close relationship with your mother,” I said.  I felt myself focus in and it was a very clear picture of his mom.  “You’re not just close, you are very similar in personality.  Two peas in a pod.  You have so many common interests.  Your dad, on the other hand, is really far away, distant.  Your parents are divorced, but they aren’t together.  I don’t understand that.”  He nodded and his eyes widened.  

“My dad works in New York, so he lives there during the week.  My mom and I are really close,” he said.

“Your mom is a really caring person.  One of the interests you share is charitable things. You guys like helping people and animals.”  I felt the warmth of his mother, and how she was such a light and loving person.  I felt how much he cared for her and how he much he valued their relationship.  It was a wonderful series of feelings.

“Ok, now you’re creeping me out,” he answered.

“She just saved something recently,” I continued.

He interrupted, “We rescued a dog two weeks ago.”

“No, I am seeing a bird.  A brightly colored bird with a hurt wing,” I continued,  He nodded almost speechless.

“It was a cardinal on the side of the road,” he said, smiling.

I was smiling too.  I felt like I was just privy to a very special woman and the relationship she has with her son.  The Universe also allowed me another chance to validate what I do.   

Leave a Reply

