Home » Uncategorized » Saturday Morning and Soul Mates

Saturday Morning and Soul Mates

I woke up early again this morning and went for my run sans musical accompaniment. Without this influx of music, my mind was filled with its own ideas and awareness.  Today my musings centered on the classic idea of a soul mate.   This idea of soul mates has always astounded me, and today I was pondering as my feet hit the pavement.  Why have I always assumed that my soul mate needs to be a romantic attachment?  It seems everywhere I look now the Universe is telling me that this is not true.  It has taken me a long time to realize this.  In my defense, my parents were not very good teachers.

Last night my family went out for dinner. I have three brothers.  I have an older brother and two younger brothers.  My two younger brothers are from my dad’s second marriage.  My father recently left his second wife, and he has again started a new “family” with his current girlfriend.  My stepmom is still very much in my life.  I am not entirely sure how I feel about that, but she’s a part of it.  My youngest brother is thirteen years younger than I am. Despite this massive age difference, we think alike and have this unbelievable connection.  We have spent most of our lives laughing at the same stuff and watching bad b-rated horror movies.  When I told him so many years ago that I could feel other people’s feelings, he was supportive and understanding.  He did not think I was crazy, but he listened and said that it all made perfect sense.  Not just sense, but perfect sense.  As I sat next to him in the restaurant last night, I could feel our connection again.  It does not matter how long it has been since we have seen each other or talked. I can stop what I am saying mid-sentence and pick it back up with minutes, hours, or days later and he will know exactly what I am talking about.  I know I can tell him anything, and he loves me and does not judge me, and I do the same for him.  I realized with sudden clarity that my constant search for my perfect “soul mate” has ended.  I am instead looking at the “soul mates” I have already been given.  They seem to be all around me.  I am blessed.  Stop and look around at the people in your life.  Who are the soul mates you’ve been given?

 

Leave a Reply

