Home » Uncategorized » Beaching It

Beaching It

Today I did my morning run along the bay.  I am down the shore, and it is glorious.  After my three miles, I decided to just sit by the side of the bay.  The sun at 6:00 am is barely in the sky here, but it was on the rise all the same.  It reminded my of a story I read about Benjamin Franklin.  Ole Ben was a real drinker and carouser.  During one of his trips to Paris, he was stumbling home from the bar early in the morning.  Looking up at the rising sun, he was shocked to see the closed Parisian shutters.  He truly felt that people were missing out on the awe inspiring view of the light coming through the clouds at such an early hour merely because it was such an early hour.  When he returned to America, he supposedly brought the idea of Daylight Saving Time.  Now I am not sure how I feel about Daylight Saving Time, but I do know that there were a lot of drawn curtains this morning.  Part of me enjoyed the isolation, and part of me wanted to wake people from their beds to tell them that they were missing an amazing part of the day for a little bit of shut-eye.  As I sat on the beach with my feet in the sand and the warmth of the sun mixing with the still coolness of the morning, I was regenerated.  The quiet solitude felt like such a blessing.  The view to my left and right was devoid of even one person, and I was in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

