Home » Uncategorized » To Every Season…

To Every Season…

950552-a-beautiful-buckeye-butterflyWhen my grandfather passed away, my aunt read a passage from the bible at his funeral. This is no real surprise.  Most funerals center around a religious element. It was Ecclesiastes 3.  As I sat in the pew, I was shocked by the words.  Until that point, I thought those words were only part of a great little tune by the Birds.  For those of you who don’t know it, it goes a little like this:

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

These words speak to me.  They were so healing that I decided to include this same passage in the readings at our wedding.  Who knew the irony contained at reading a popular funeral dirge at a wedding?  I do not believe that this in any way signaled the ending of my marriage, but I do think that it is instrumental in helping me heal.

This morning after my 5:30 am swim, I was reflecting on the last two years and the changes that have occurred.  Some of the events were planned, but so many of them just seemed to happen with a flow that I could not control.  There is a time and a season for all things.  There is an ebb and a flow to this life that is beyond the realm of our choices.  The strength of this conviction does not exist solely in the religion that sparked the words of this psalm; it is everywhere in everything.  I strive to remember this when the world of my mind is raging and when outside events overwhelm me.  I hope the reiteration of these words helps those who need to remember that there is a time for all.

 

Leave a Reply

