Satisfied Saturday

,

MV5BZTc1MWEzNTEtMWI3OS00Nzc3LWFmN2UtMmYxZGY3YjdiZTk3XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyOTc5MDI5NjE@._V1_When I see the word “satisfied”, I think of Romeo in Romeo and Juliet.  In Baz Luhrmann’s version of the Shakespeare classic, Leonardo DeCaprio (aka Romeo) stands against Tybalt.  Juliet’s fiery cousin feels as if Romeo has dishonored the Capulet family by entering their big bash the night before uninvited.  Only Romeo knows that hours before he married Tybalt’s cousin, Juliet, and they are now family.  The dramatic irony is intense while the viewer waits to see if Tybalt calms down and accepts Romeo’s heartfelt apology.  Tybalt points his gun (it’s the modern version of the classic) in Romeo’s face, and Romeo says, “And so Good Capulet, whose name I tender as dearly as mine own, be satisfied.”   DiCaprio’s performance is outstanding as he proceeds to repeat over again, “be satisfied.”

Unfortunately, Tybalt is too blinded by rage to accept the apology, and he completely misses the deeper meaning of the words “whose name I tender as dearly as mine own”, and he continues the fighting.  Tybalt kills Mercutio, and Romeo kills Tybalt.  It is the beginning of the end for this tragedy.

On this foggy Saturday as I tried to determine what my alliterative intention would be for today, the word “satisfied” seemed the appropriate way to go.

Yes, today will be a quiet day of satisfactions.  Unlike Tybalt, I choose not to rage against all that is trying to be right in my world.  We have no definitive plans today. I will not be angry at my ex who is once again waiting until the middle of the day to pick up the boys. I will not rage about the multiple piles of dog poop I was forced to pick up in the front lawn because others in this family did not. I will not fight and curse with my phone when images and words from political rivals float my way.  I will not stress when I feel that my bank account is getting too low after paying the bills.  No, I will try in the face of these adversaries to remain steadfast.

Dear Divine, show me the next right step as I walk through this day satisfied with the situations in front of me. Help calm this raging heart when it seeks to run away with passion and fury and remind me that all is right with the world. Help me to “be satisfied”.

Love and Light, my fiery friend. Love and Light

MV5BNGNmZjgzOGUtNjQyYS00OWVkLTg4OGItNGMwYmE2ZWFiMDU1XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyOTc5MDI5NjE@._V1_UY100_CR67,0,100,100_AL_

2 responses to “Satisfied Saturday”

  1. This is exactly the reminder I needed today (and every day). Thank you for your healing words.

Leave a comment